Florida Law for Nurses 2016

Author: Robert D. Anderson, JD
Publisher: Anderson Continuing Education
Date Published: 2016
Pages: 33
Cover Type: Loose-Leaf Spiral Binding
Expiration Date: 12/31/2019

CCRNs: This course is eligible for new synergy model Category B.

This course is designed to satisfy the requirement that nurses licensed in Florida earn 2 contact hours each renewal cycle on the laws and regulations of the Board of Nursing.

It covers:

  • The Practice of Nursing
  • Advanced Registered Nurse Practitioners and Clinical Nurse Specialists
  • Who, Besides Nurses, May Practice Nursing?
  • Continuing Education, including the requirement to complete your required hours before you can renew a license.
  • Licensee Disciplinary Actions, including 31 actual cases in which nurses licensed in Florida were disciplined by the Board.

In general, nurses are required to earn 24 contact hours each renewal cycle. In 2016 that includes:

  • 20 contact hours in general continuing education
  • 2 hours in prevention of medical errors.
  • 2 hours on the laws and regulations of the Board of Nursing.

Nurses licensed in Florida must also earn 2 contact hours in domestic violence every third renewal (every six years). These hours are in addition to the 24 hours normally required. A nurse who is completing the domestic violence course will earn a total of 26 hours in that renewal cycle.

NameDeliveryCourse CodeHoursPrice 
Reading material and quizShipped2LAW162.0$12.00
Quiz onlyShipped2LAW16 QZ2.0$12.00
Reading material and quizOnline2LAW162.0$12.00
Quiz onlyOnline2LAW16 QZ2.0$12.00
Name / Course CodePrice / DeliveryHours 
Reading material and quiz
(2LAW16)
$12.00
Shipped
2.0
Quiz only
(2LAW16 QZ)
$12.00
Shipped
2.0
Reading material and quiz
(2LAW16)
$12.00
Online
2.0
Quiz only
(2LAW16 QZ)
$12.00
Online
2.0